Service and repair work

E

eddiescully

Well guys im a qualified plumber from ireland who was let go recently. Im an RGI and the company i worked for did all domestic plumbing, oil and gas installations ect. Since i was let go i am very interested in going into the service and repair of oil and gas boilers. As all the work i was doing was just installations i went off to a energy training centre and did a 12 day course in domestic gas boiler servicing/repair (Blueflame Certification) and this course did give me a good basic understanding but as we all well know a 12 day course leaves me well short to were i want to be. But in ireland that is it, i cant take my training any further in this line of work there is notting else out there. I was thinking of doing a certificate in Mechanical Engineering NFQ level 6 but by doing this would this help in understanding boiler fault finding (diagnostics) any advice thanks

Sponsored Links
I always think that its the electrics/electronics which are the limiting factor for most people when trying to repair boilers.

The answer of course is also lots of practical experience!

Tony

go on manufactures courses they will help
but other than that practice
and join the combustion chamber for detailed information

Come over to England - there's loads of work here.

Sponsored Links
What Joe means is there is plenty of work here if you are Polish and happy with £5 an hour.

But two months ago I met a Polish fellow outside Wickes who was a qualified cook as well as a very experienced carpenter/joiner. He had not done any proper job for six weeks and spent the day helping people to load at Wickes and getting the odd tip.

he had been here for six years and spoke quite good english.

But he did want £8 an hour minimum whereas I was looking for someone at £6 an hour for unskilled work.

Tony

Tony stop talking to strange men in car-parks! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Let alone offer them £6 per hour!

Andy