SMD strips wires directly to a switch?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Just after a bit of advice hopefully, painter by trade and am just in the middle of re decorating my kitchen and have decided to replace 2 fluorescent lights that are currently attached under the cupboards.

There is currently 2 fluorescent lights that are wired into a switch on the wall, I would assume these are into the light circuit, I have got a reel of waterproof smds and am now wondering how I would go around wiring these into that switch instead?
Can I legally do it myself or will it need to be done by a qualified electrician?
Will I need to use a driver of some description?

Last edited:
Sponsored Links
SMD = Surface Mounted Device and is the latest buzz word for selling LED ( Light Emitting Diode ) lamps. It is cheaper to make SMD LEDs and cheaper to solder them to the flexible PCB ( Printed Circuit Board ) used in thes strips.

The vast majority of LED strips are 12 volt operation so it will require a 12 volt DC supply. This can be cofirmed if the strip has groups of 3 LED elements and a resistor between the points where it can be cut.

A power supply will take 230 volt AC power from where the present lights are connected and provide 12 DC power to the strip. Above all you do NOT want and LED driver which is a constant current supply.

SMD = Surface Mounted Device and is the latest buzz word for selling LED ( Light Emitting Diode ) lamps. It is cheaper to make SMD LEDs and cheaper to solder them to the flexible PCB ( Printed Circuit Board ) used in thes strips.

The vast majority of LED strips are 12 volt operation so it will require a 12 volt DC supply. This can be cofirmed if the strip has groups of 3 LED elements and a resistor between the points where it can be cut.

A power supply will take 230 volt AC power from where the present lights are connected and provide 12 DC power to the strip. Above all you do NOT want and LED driver which is a constant current supply.