solar shed project !! wiring diagram

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom

hi everybody

Im no electrician so any comments would be greatly appreciated .

am i on the right track with this wiring diagram ?

it's for my garden shed its basically to get lights in there but i eventually plan to put a fridge or freeze in and a couple of sockets .

is it safe to use ?
are the fuse ratings ok or should they be lower ?
was thinking 3amp lights , 5 amp fridge/freezer and 10amp sockets

thanks in advance

mark

Sponsored Links
With a 1000W inverter why use a 10A fuse 5A is maximum output. Having used a 3kW inverter with 6kW peak on three 160AH batteries at 12v the cables have to be rather large in your case looking at around 100 amp so needs around 25mm² cable also battery size is really not big enough for 100A drain so I would want to go to 24v or 48v to reduce current used on extra low voltage side.

The controller measures the battery voltage and using battery at same time as charging battery can mess up the controller. It does depend on how the controller charges the battery. There are two methods. One it charges battery then stops for few seconds and measures the rate of voltage drop this type seem to work OK when using battery at same time as charging. Second type measures battery charge current and switches to float once it reaches around 5 amp this type can over charge the battery if power used while charging and it has not reached the float stage.

Since your controller is designed to auto switch on lights when the sun light fails it may not be pulse type.

Also remember with more than one item on the low voltage side (230) you will need an earth and a RCD on the supply to sockets. I would not use same box with low voltage and extra low voltage fuses.

With one output only the inverter works like a shaver socket and the isolated supply is reasonable safe without an earth or RCD once you have 2 or more items fed from the inverter then earth and RCD is required.