Soldering Techniques

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
This is purely a question to satisfy my curiosity.

I know that two methods of connecting wires that are considered permanent are crimps and soldering. There are a lot of posts about the former (with helpful suggestions) and very few about the later.

I have a lot of soldering experience in electronics but none or very little with heavier gauge wires. Also, with electronics, most connections tend to be soldered between PCB’s and components rather than wire to wire.

I can envisage how a sound soldering joint would be possible between say 2.5mm2 wire but I would like to know what techniques are used to connect larger (say 10mm2) cables?

Also, in terms of insulation presumably each conductor in a cable would insulated with heatshrink and then covered with one large piece of heatshrink which covers the whole cable?

From a mechanical strength point of view, when soldering cables, would it be better to offset the joins on the conductors – say 10mm so they are not all in the same place or would this make no difference?

RS, I’m sure you will have some educational pictures :D

Sponsored Links
iirc the reccomended way of soldering thick solid wires is to put them next to each other and then bind them together with thin wire (say offcuts of phone cable or cat5) before soldering.

The tighter the wires are bound together before soldering the better the joint will be.

You will also need to be able to apply a lot of heat, a 25W iron just isn't going to be enough.

Remeber to insulate the joint appropriately after soldering.

plugwash said:
iirc the reccomended way of soldering thick solid wires is to put them next to each other and then bind them together with thin wire (say offcuts of phone cable or cat5) before soldering.

Some phone cable and most Cat 5 will NOT solder very well as they are not pure copper. Thin CPC from Twin and earth is better