Sore after a weekends graft..

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
So this bank holidays good weather has seen me outside continuing with the never-ending garden project for 4 days straight..

The mornings after a days graft, which mostly involves lifting, digging and shovelling, my back in particularly stiff and painful. Yet within a couple of hours gentle motion and light chores (tidying up and sorting out) things are back to usual and I can graft on. A speedier recovery can be achieved with painkillers (Ibuprofen & codeine), however I don't like popping pills at the best of times.

My day job is pretty sedate, the only thing heavier than my mouse that I have to lift on a regular basis is a laptop computer, and that's rare.

Any thoughts on how I can reduce the post-graft stiffness? It used to be a good feeling accompanying the feel of a job well done, but now it's just painful and makes me feel twice my age.

I'm guessing some form of wind down exercises or stretches, but what? what should I be exercising or stretching, and in what way?

Sponsored Links
What a f*nny, :rolleyes: A few aches and pains are nothing to people who actually graft for a living.

Wind down exercises ffs. :LOL: :LOL:

I once made the mistake of lifting a 110V transformer (for an angle grinder, I think) by 'stooping' rather than 'crouching'. My back was painful for several days afterwards but, thankfully, eventually put itself right.

So that's the answer, at least as far as I'm concerned: posture!

yup, I don't graft for a living. I graft at the weekends, and my air-conditioned office accustomed body is apparently not really liking the combination of pushing a mouse around all week, and barrowing cement at the weekends. :)

So, suggestions?

ETA: I'm pretty conscious of my posture, particularly with things like paving slabs which can be as unforgiving when dropped as well as when lifted wrong..

Sponsored Links