1. We are pleased to announce the 'Home Automation' forum. Click here to get involved!

Spur on ring

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by andy963, 20 Apr 2009.

  1. andy963

    Joined:
    20 Apr 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    HI new to this forum

    I would just like to know would be it okay to add a spur but take the feed directly from the ring main circuit breaker to the spur,instead of tapping into the ring at all.
    Its just easier to fit twin socket run cable directly to c/u
    thanks
     
  2. holmslaw

    Joined:
    12 Dec 2006
    Messages:
    5,841
    Thanks Received:
    400
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  3. rebuke

    Joined:
    4 Nov 2008
    Messages:
    872
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I believe there's a regulation (not 100% sure though) that says you should only have as many spurs as you have accessories on the ring, so if every existing socket/FCU on the ring already has a spur from it, then you can't, but otherwise it should be OK.

    You could always extend the ring by using crimps to connect one leg to a new cable, run that to your socket, then another cable back to the breaker...
     
  4. andy963

    Joined:
    20 Apr 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you chaps for the speedy response one more thing would i have to complete a cert just for that installation on that circuit only
    cheers.
     
  5. rebuke

    Joined:
    4 Nov 2008
    Messages:
    872
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, under BS7671 (the wiring regs) you should complete a minor works certificate (MWC), listing the test results etc. If you don't have any test kit though, then obviously that's a bit hard to do. BS7671 however is not a legal requirement...

    Assuming the extra socket is not in one of the specific areas mentioned in Part P (bathroom, kitchen, outdoors etc), then the work is not notifiable to building control, so you don't need to get a completion certificate for it etc.
     
  6. andy963

    Joined:
    20 Apr 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thats great cheers buddy... Do have megger etc just a newbie to the game wasnt to sure weather to test individual circuit, or full test on all the circuits etc..
     
  7. ColJack

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    11,774
    Thanks Received:
    408
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if you're running it back to the CU anyway, just put it on it's own radial.. :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page