Stud wall Identification

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
First post and new to anything DIY.

Moved into our first home, 2007 build and have put up a fair few wall mounted shelves and heavy objects, I'm now stuck with something.

I want to wall mount a book shelf that has 3 tiers and 7 fixing points.
https://secretsales-prod-product-im...139055/1e4eeef4997d38827b2c536181e0485a_l.jpg

The wall is interior and "I think" it's a metal stud wall, however I'm not 100% as I'm new to this. Ideally, if it is I want to hit as many studs as I can for support.

I've been using a magnetic stud finder, mostly to avoid anything I shouldn't be hitting but now I'm more familiar with studs and wanting to mount something heavier I need to find them to hit, especially if it's a metal stud wall.

My main question is, without opening up the wall how the hell can I really tell?
How do I know it's a metal stud or it's a pipe or something else I shouldn't be hitting?
How do I know if the metal stud is actually a metal plate protecting something, it's there as a warning not to drill further?

It's really confusing me. I don't want to damage the wall too much. I've taken a socket plate off to try and see behind but it has a plastic back plate that doesn't look like it can be removed, no screws and there's no gap to see through.

Here's the wall
metalstuds.jpg

If I run the magnet from top to bottom of the wall it sticks all the way where the white lines are (right from ceiling to floor), and it's like this every 17.5". The black dots represent where it's a very strong magnetic pull, these are random. At first I figured this could possibly be metal plating joining the studs which is why it was stronger. I'm not sure.

Believing I should hit the metal stud, I took the centre most point having lined up my book shelf previously and drilled, not to pierce the metal but to see what it was beyond the plaster.

metalstud1.jpg