The Man Cave : A garden office (aka fancy shed)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I'm a self-employed app developer and am basically working out of a bedroom right now. Its by no means ideal, and distractions are aplenty. So I've decided that I need to get a work space set up away from family distractions.

I've done some research and have decided that the best (and most affordable) way of doing this is to do a garden office, using a Log-Cabin style shed.

Initially I was planning on going to one of the garden office companies that come in and do everything for you, but I just simply cant afford that right now. So after some thinking I think I could probably undertake it all by myself, and then get a sparky in to do the all the wiring (and the mains connection).

I really just wanted to check and share some ideas/thoughts about how it should be done.

I'd start with a log-cabin style shed, something like a BillyOh Devon (http://www.gardenbuildingsdirect.co.uk/Log-Cabins/BillyOh-Devon-Log-Cabin)

Now, here's where it gets...odd. The site shows the shed..sorry, log cabin constructed and capable of housing without any interior insulation. Surely this cant be right?

I was thinking more along the lines of buying a BillyOh Devon, and then adding a waterproof layer inside (Celotex if I'm not mistaken?) followed by wall-battens, then get the wiring put in, followed by insulation and then plasterboard. The same would apply to the roof. Is this pretty much correct? My only concern is ventilation and condensation. While I dont want condensation, I dont particularly want a hole on the wall letting cold air in over winter.