Tips for frame and doors for built in wardrobe

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys and gals,

newbie here ...Would like some advice on right size wood for a timber frame that will be holding 7ft mdf doors.

The doors will be 7ft in height and 2ft wide ...Altogether there will be 5 doors.

The frame will be attached to the walls to make it more sturdy.I am using mdf 18mm for the doors ..Was thinking about using 4-5 hinges on each door..Will the hinges fix ok on the 18mm mdf (not sure yet which hinges to use) also will the mdf warp or will it be ok ?

Seen some stud at wickes which is 38x63mmx2.4 would this be ok to use with the mdf ? Was thinking of adding some Decorative mould to the front of the mdf. Using mdf for the doors as i am on a budget so that's ok with me lol.

I have a few tools so thats not a problem, but i am not very experienced with wood work but want to have ago.

Thanks for your time,could do with a little help
:confused:

Sponsored Links
Do you want an open wardrobe inside, or sectioned for each door? in which case you could use more mdf fixed to rear wall ceiling and floor to hang doors on, use at least 5 kitchen hinges for tall doors.If you use timber frame face the edge with more mdf for a consistant finish.

Hi thanks for your reply..The 1st and 5th door when open will have shelves inside and the other 3 remaining doors will have a continuous rail inside for hanging clothes ..

Would it be ok to use the 38x63x2.4m wood to hang the doors on as it would give more strength , i know it's a dumb question but you don't learn owt if you don't ask..

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
The timber you suggest would be ok for middle doors but as you need a side panel for shelves use more 18mm mdf for the end cup's.When you purchase check each timber as it needs to be perfect to keep doors aligned [slightly larger dimension timber would be advisable if you have the room.] Does this mean you will be spanning approx 6' for hanging rail?