To Paint Wallpaper or Not to Paint Wallpaper?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I've just bought the house I've been renting for the last five years and desperate to get rid of this pink wallpaper in my bedroom.

My mum reckons she'd just paint it - she's quite handy/crafty.
I know ideally it should be removed, but what do you think? Is it too inconsistent to paint? Or would you paint it? The house is 7 years old so the condition of the walls should be fairly good.

If I were to paint (with primer/white coat then colour) is there a technique for hiding the seams? Sanding? I was thinking some kind of tape or a wet plaster mix rubbed over it.

I've used some tester pots on the paper to see how it reacts - it's taken well and doesn't bloat/distort although the seams are noticeable.

I'm looking to paint the final coat with Valspar British Shorthair - an off mid grey tinted blue/green. Best match I can find is in attached pictures. Just to give you a bit of an idea

Attachments

• 9695be1815d31b05b7b472b4ecd23475.jpg
    9695be1815d31b05b7b472b4ecd23475.jpg
    1.3 KB · Views: 356
  • DSC_0888.JPG
    DSC_0888.JPG
    35.7 KB · Views: 180
  • DSC_0889.JPG
    DSC_0889.JPG
    38.5 KB · Views: 177
  • DSC_0890.JPG
    DSC_0890.JPG
    94 KB · Views: 187
  • DSC_0891.JPG
    DSC_0891.JPG
    48.6 KB · Views: 160
Sponsored Links
IMO it would be a bit of a bodge to paint the wallpaper, the pattern will show through the paint, also depending on the type of ink used in the wallpaper pattern, this could stain the emulsion finish.

Get yourself a cheap steam stripper from a DIY outlet and remove the paper, you will always find an alternative use for the stripper, i.e defrost fridge, Freezer, clean cooker, clean tiles etc, so it would not be a waste of money.

Thanks for the input. Do you have a stripper in mind? (link?)