treating oil on railway sleeper

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi all, great to see a forum like this, especially for a non expert like myself.

i have started a garden project some time back, and i am ready to get it going again. i have set out railway sleepers in the rear garden to create two adjoining boxes, one raised higher than the other.

i have decided to grow grass in them for now, and intend getting this done after winter. before i do this , i need to treat the timber as there are some patches of oil on them. i am not sure if this runs through it, or if it is on the surface. i suspect the later, but i am no expert.

so my question is, what is the best way to get rid of, or permanently cover this oil. it would be nice to sit on these when the garden is done, but i am concerned with stains on clothing, and the risk of slipping.

i have asked at DIY stores but no one seems to know what to do. i have considered a blow torch to burn off some of the wood and oil, and maybe sand it down. i reckon i have one try at making this look good, so i am reluctant to do anything before i know more.

once the oil problem is sorted, i think i need to treat the wood, but in a way that creates a good finish, rather than a sticky surface

sorry for the long wind on this one, any help suggestions would be appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Unless these are the type from garden centres that are not impregnated with tar/preservative you will never get rid of it. They are pressure treated to give them long life.

have i just found my answer? found this on a link in another thread.
the oil is in patches, and i have not noticed any extra oozing during the summer, (although it was not that warm this year anyway).