turn off hot water

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I need to fix or change the tap in the bathroom, i cannot find any shut off valve or stop cock to stop the hot water supply from the boiler to the tap.
i can feel which of the pipes gets hot when i run the water but just cannot see any way to turn off the supply.. can some one please help. Michael

Sponsored Links
is the tap a pillar tap or a mixer tap?

is your system direct (mains pressure all round the house) or gravity fed in the bathroom (eg/ is there a cold water tank in the loft)?

do you have a combi boiler/sealed hot water/central heating system?

I'm no expert but...if you have a combi-boiler (no hot water tank) then just turn the mains off and you should be in business.

Most combis have an isolating valve on the cold mains inlet (15mm pipe) under the boiler. Shutting this off will turn off just the HW taps.

Sponsored Links
Turn off the mains stopcock for the house if you have a combi or an unvented cylider if you have a vented cylinder there should be a gatevalve at the cylinder cold feed pipe just turn this clockwise and run a tap to ensure the water is off if there isn't a gatevalve at the cylinder cold feed there will be on in the loft at the cold water tank easiest way to ensure you have the correct valve is to run a hot tap and put you finger over the feed pipe inside the tank to check which one the water is going into.

If there is no gate valve at the tank you will have to empty the tank by turning off the mains to the tank then running your hot and cold taps in the bathroom until the tank empties however you will more than likely get airlocks when you refill the tank.

if there is no gate valve you can "bung" the cold feed (hot) and cold distributing pipe using pipe bungs (available from normal stores like B&Q now).

if you do drain the tank though and get an airlock or air in the pipes/leave the taps running for a few minutes and they will splutter and get the air out this way.