Turning a 3-way switch into motion sensor wall switch

Discussion in 'Electrics Outside of the UK' started by ppwlee, 5 Jul 2007.

  1. ppwlee

    Joined:
    5 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Turning 3 way light switch into 1 motion sensor switch

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Hello, first time poster at DIY,

    My house currently has two 3-way switch controlling a light at the downstairs entrance. I like to turn one of the 3-way switch located at the lower floor to a motion sensor wall switch.

    I opened up the existing 3-way switch box and it has 3 terminals with 3 wires (black, red, white), how do I hook it up to my motion sensor switch which has 2 black wires and 1 green (ground wire)? My goal is to make the top floor switch either an independent switch, or "3-way" with the motion wall switch.

    Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

    Peter
     
  2. breezer

    Joined:
    3 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    23,326
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i bet you cant.

    this is a UK based forurm so terminology is different over here, BUT from what you have said it sounds like you can turn the same light on / off from more than one switch. over here that is called 2 way switching. to do this means you need a 2 way switch (it has 3 terminals, just like yours has)

    a light that is only controled from one switch only has 2 terminals (just like your new switch has)

    i would say that your new switch is 1 way, but you need 2 way
     
  3. bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    12,377
    Thanks Received:
    1,049
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    For safety reasons any motion sensor should only be wired as an over-ride ON function ( otherwise it could turn the lights OFF when someone was moving in the area )


    You say the sensor only has two wires ? Can you provide a link to the manufacturer's installation instructions. Is it an inline type that does not need a neutral, only live in and switched live out

    If so then it is possible that you could connect to sensor to obtain the overide function,

    More detail is needed, the labels for the connections on the back of the switch or a photo would help
     
  4. breezer

    Joined:
    3 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    23,326
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thats a good point, but the makes of pir / flood light combinations dont know that
     
  5. securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    26,014
    Thanks Received:
    503
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    See here:

    http://www.electrical-online.com/extra-graphics/3wayswitch.htm

    The best way I can see to do it is to fit motion sensors to both switch positions.

    At the switch where the live feed comes into the common, take the live feed to one of the black wires on the sensor.

    Connect a traveler to the same terminal, so you carry the live feed through to the other switch. Connect the OTHER traveler to the other black wire. This becomes the switch wire which links through to the other switch position.

    The traveler you made a live feed in the first switch connects to one side of the motion sensor switch at the second switch position, and the other traveler (which is now a switch wire) connects to the other side of the motion sensor, along with the original switchwire to the light fitting.

    This way, you have automatic operation of the light from both positions.

    Just make sure the timing is set enough for you to get from A to B safely.

    Does the sensor switch require a neutral connection, or just hot ones?
     
  6. ppwlee

    Joined:
    5 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    Here it is:
    http://lighting.heath-zenith.com/products.cgi?type=4

    Model number I have is SL-6105 (single pole)

    Manual is: http://12.153.20.74/manuals/595-4881-09J.pdf

    I like the idea of using the motion sensor as a over-ride, meaning it will be triggered on by motion but only comes off when I turn off the switch.

    Can it be done? How?

    Thanks.
    Peter

     
  7. ppwlee

    Joined:
    5 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    I was able to take some pictures showing what I have:

    Existing wall switch (lower floor):
    http://members.shaw.ca/ppwlee/lowerswitch_back.JPG
    http://members.shaw.ca/ppwlee/lowerswitch_side.JPG
    http://members.shaw.ca/ppwlee/lowerswitch_wall_outlet.JPG

    Motion sensor switch:
    http://members.shaw.ca/ppwlee/motionsensor.JPG


    I like to replace the lower floor light switch to a motion sensor so it will trigger the light to "on" but turn off by either the manual override on the motion sensor switch or the upper level switch (no shown).


    Thanks for any suggestion.

    Peter
     
  8. BaNaNaBoy69

    Joined:
    23 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm having the same problem! We have the same unit but they make a 3-way motion detector switch too. Unfortunately, I don' think Home Depot carries that model. Help!
     
  9. breezer

    Joined:
    3 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    23,326
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    go some where else then
     
  10. BaNaNaBoy69

    Joined:
    23 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks breezer! your advice is awesome! why didnt i think of that?
     

Share This Page