Two way lighting

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Shaun007, 14 Nov 2002.

This topic originated from the How to page called Replacing a one way light switch with a two way light switch.

  1. Shaun007

    Joined:
    14 Nov 2002
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Help please:

    I've a single two way switch downstairs and a double two way upstairs. To operate the light, i have to switch the light on downstairs to operate it upstairs But if i dont switch on at the bottom it won't work at the top.
    help it's driving me crackers.........

    [Edited by Shaun007 on 14-11-2002 at 22:19 PM GMT]
     
  2. AnonymousImport

    Joined:
    20 Apr 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Two way switching requires two paths between the switches (I've tried to show this in a diagram)
    If one of the paths fails, it means that one switch will only work if the other has been switched to the good path.
    Fault could be the switch or the wiring between switches.
                  DIAGRAM (sort of!)

      from                                         to
    live feed     inter switch wire 1     lamp
                 /--------------------------
    ----------/   inter switch wire 2 ----------
                  --------------------------  
            downtairs               upstairs
             switch                    switch

    Hope this helps.
     
  3. DEANO

    Joined:
    9 Nov 2002
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    IF YOUVE DEFINATELY GOT A TWO WAY LIGHTING CIRCUIT AND BOTH SWITCHES ARE DEFINATELY TWO-WAY SWITCHES THEN IT SOUNDS LIKE THE BOTTOM SWITCH IS U/S. IT SOUNDS LIKE ONE LEG OF THE SWITCH IS NOT CONNECTING THROUGH. ITS ALSO WORTH CHECKING THAT ALL THREE WIRES IN THE BOTTOM SWITCH ARE MAKING GOOD CONTACT. TRY HAVING A LOOK AND IF YOUR STILL HAVING PROBLEMS GET BACK TO ME..........
     
  4. Shaun007

    Joined:
    14 Nov 2002
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've checked the switch and connections both are fine.
    I've noted the connections for both switches.
    (both light-switches are the right way up)
    downstairs :
    Black at the top
    Fat red core L1(pardon the description)
    red.......... L2

    upstairs :
    Black: common
    fat red core L1
    red..........L2

    just moved in property

    I feel there isn't enough cable fed to both switches

    Help anyone...........

     
  5. DEANO

    Joined:
    9 Nov 2002
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    IT SOUNDS TO ME THAT THE BOTTOM SWITCH IS THE PROBLEM. I THINK EITHER THE RED IN L1 OR THE RED IN L2 SHOULD BE THE COMMON. I SUSPECT ONE OF THESE IS THE LIVE SUPPLY IN OR THE LIVE SUPPLY OUT TO THE LAMP. THE TWO CORES THAT ARE IN THE SAME CABLE, I/E ONE BLACK AND A RED SHOULD BE THE TWO CORES OF THE TWO WAY CIRCUIT. THE OTHER RED SHOULD BE THE ONLY CORE IN ANOTHER CABLE USED AND THAT SHOULD GO TO THE COMMON CONNECTION. TRY ROTATING THE THREE CONNECTIONS IN THE BOTTOM SWITCH. AFTER A COUPLE OF TRYS YOU SHOULD OF CRACKED IT. DONT DISTURB THE UPSTAIRS SWITCH AT THIS POINT. LET ME KNOW HOW THINGS TURN OUT.
     
  6. AnonymousImport

    Joined:
    20 Apr 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've tried all combinations possible on the downstairs switch, still no joy.

    I think I'll accept defeat on this one.

    thanks for the information Deano

    probably after xmas i'll call a sparky out
     
  7. amtodd

    Joined:
    6 Jun 2002
    Messages:
    110
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I concur with Deano's first suggestion that the switch at the bottom may have failed. If it only outputs on one of the contacts, it will act as a one way switch and would give the same symptoms as you have.
    Switches do fail.
    I know you said the connections are fine, but do you mean you have checked the wires are secure in the terminals or did you test the internal workings of the switch via a meter (or both)?

    If that is not the problem, I'd check the wires are not broken between the top and the bottom switches and the rose / junction box and the fitting.

    Can check cables and switch with a multimeter (use some spare cable to extend the meter probes between the upstairs and downstairs). Don't forget to turn the power off!
     
  8. kendor

    Joined:
    16 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    5,065
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    To Convert from One way Lighting to Two Way the easiest and most common way is to use the Conversion Method.

    Firstly Isolate the lighting circuit from the supply(goes without saying really)

    Run a Three Core and Earth Flat cable from the existing switch to where you want the second switch

    Remove existing switch and look at back of it if it has only two terminals then discard it if you are lucky and it has three marked C, L1 and L2 then you have one two way switch already

    you need to obtain another two way switch

    in the original switchbox you now have a two core (commonly a red and a black core, see below)

    and the new three core cable ( red, yellow and blue cores)

    connect the red from the three core to terminal C

    As normal if the two core cable has red and black cores:

    connect the red from the two core cable and the yellow from the three core cable together into terminal L1

    connect the black core from the two core cable and the blue cable from the three core cable together into L2

    If the two core cable cores are both red:

    connect one to the yellow in L1 and the other to the blue in L2

    at the other switchbox connect the red again to C

    the yellow again to L1

    and the blue again to L2

    and that is it! you don't need to touch the wiring at the ceiling rose at all!
     
  9. ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    52,032
    Thanks Received:
    2,032
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Kendor -

    1) Why did you beat yourself up trying to describe in words what is much easier explained with a picture? Like this one -

    [​IMG]



    2) Why did you reply to a problem that is 17 months old?
     
  10. breezer

    Joined:
    3 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    23,326
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i asked that too, but it has been "lost"
     
  11. kendor

    Joined:
    16 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    5,065
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just trying to help, why did you reply to a problem 17 months old then??

    I thought i did a good job describing what to do step by step some people cant follow diagrams

    and thirdly whats it to you if i decide to help someone Jealous??
     
  12. breezer

    Joined:
    3 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    23,326
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I shall explain.

    if you look at origonal post it shows

    Shaun007

    Joined: 14 Nov 2002
    Posts: 2


    so that means not only is the post very old, Shaun007 only ever made 2 posts (both in same thread) which means he wont be back, which in turn means you had to find the post in order for you to reply to it,which was a total waste of time, but hopefully you will have learnt from this post to always read how old a post is before you reply.

    jealous us, no.
     
  13. kendor

    Joined:
    16 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    5,065
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    sorry what i meant to say was mind your own business!
     
  14. Big_Spark

    Joined:
    20 Feb 2004
    Messages:
    3,434
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The voice of reason speaks, Kendor, with your charm, wit and obvious intelligence you should join the Diplomatic Service.....of some tin pot, third world dictator..:D
     
  15. ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    52,032
    Thanks Received:
    2,032
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    When did I do that? I was replying to you, and your post was less than 4 hours old...

    You did do a good job describing it, but I would submit that if someone really can't follow diagrams (particularly that one, which I think is extremely clear) then they have no business doing wiring jobs.

    No - why on earth should I be jealous? It was mainly curiousity that prompted my second question, but it does also have something to do with me, and every other reader of the forum, in that it pointlessly dragged that old dead topic back into the current ones.

    And if you're going to react like this when someone just asks you a question, I dread to think what you'll do when someone says "no, you're completely wrong"...
     

Share This Page