Using self adhesive vinyl tiles to cover a table-top?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there, this is my first time posting so I hope I am in the right section and that someone can help me with my DIY relating decorating question. I am considering using self-adhesive vinyl floor tiles to cover a table.

I'm not 100% sure what the table top I will be covering is made of - it's glossy white, and the manufacturer lists its as polyurethane lacquer which doesn't mean a huge amount to me. It's this table: http://www.gomodern.co.uk/store/flip-2-fold-out-coffee-console-dining-table.html but I got it from Harveys for a much better price!

My question is whether it's a good idea to cover it with self-adhesive vinyl (for both decorative and protective purposes) and also whether, further down the line, I can remove the vinyl tiles without damaging the table top/leaving traces of adhesive behind.

Any advice/thoughts very gratefully received.

Sorry that I'm so vague and untechnical - I'm a first time home owner so a lot of things are very new to me. Hopefully if I hang out here a little longer I will improve. If I'm putting this post in the wrong section, let me know!

Thank you.

Sponsored Links
Not sure why you would want to spend over a thousand on a table just to cover with floor tiles? Personally speaking I'd keep my eye out for an old table to cover it if that's the kind of look you are after.

That said, no, I'd not cover it with floor tiles (but then I'd not cover it all!) The space in between will get dirty with general use and be hard to clean/keep hygienic. You can get sheets of vinyl instead and cut to size? You can see rolls of it at B&Q with various patterns. And the residue left behind if you remove it would probably depend on what glue you used in the first place and what solvent you use to remove the residue. I should imagine tho that it would be ok.

Hi Blightyman,