Vaillant combi boiler...pressure gauge at 3 bar

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by Jonobaker, 26 Dec 2007.

  1. Jonobaker

    Joined:
    22 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Noticed yesterday that the pressure gauge on my boiler was beyond the red mark at 3 bar. I have an engineer coming out tomorrow but is there anything I can do in the meantime to get the pressure down?
    I turned the pressure release knob underneath the boiler and the pressure does go down but it soon builds back up to 3 bar again.
    Also bled every radiator in the house, but it's still at 3 bar
    I've shut it down completely as I daren't use it as it is at the moment and the house is freezing!
    Happy Christmas ;)
     
  2. Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    55,385
    Thanks Received:
    3,638
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The over prerssure will not stop the boiler from working in the short term.

    The filling loop is probably left open. You should try to close this ASAP.

    As you probably left it open yourself when trying to fill the system then reverse whatever yuo did or look at the FAQ on this site.

    Tony
     
  3. gas4you

    Joined:
    23 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    17,882
    Thanks Received:
    840
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As Tony said, make sure filling loop is off completely, then find a drain point on one of the radiators or under the boiler and drain off some water into a bucket until pressure is down to around 1.5 bar.
     
  4. whoisjay

    Joined:
    31 Dec 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This post is just over one year old, but I have a very similar situation. Its New Years eve, so getting hold of a plumber is impossible !! Any help would be much appreciated...

    We have a Vaillant ecoTEC 637 boiler (less than 4 months old). After being away for a while, we had the boiler turned off, when we returned today and turned it back on I looked at the pressure and it was well below 1 bar, so I added some pressure from the filling loop (I was very careful to turn this off once filled and I have double and triple checked the filling loop is off)

    However it looks like it was just not up to temp yet which is why it was low and now I have added to much pressure as it is now up at 3.1 bar and showing no sign of dropping many hours later.

    I'm no expert in this, but have been reading what I can about this model boiler - am I right in understanding the built in "pressure release valve" is automatically operated by the boiler when it detects its too highly pressurized? It doesn't seem to be doing this.

    Alternatively do I need to operate this "pressure release valve" myself? I can't for the life of me see where it is though!

    Any help much, much appreciated.
     
  5. gas4you

    Joined:
    23 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    17,882
    Thanks Received:
    840
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Drain some water out of the system via a convenient drain cock, then call Agile from his profile.

    He is always telling us that he comes out straight away for any faults ;)
     

Share This Page