Vaillant or Broag Remeha?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Given the choice between a ecoTEC plus 618 or an Avanta 18s is one much better than the other?

Everything I read says that the Vaillant customer support is awful although the boilers are good. The Remeha approach seems more helpful with a lot of information on their website. The Remeha controls look like they might be better than the Vaillant's. How do the Remeha boilers compare?

Sponsored Links
Toss a coin, I suspect you'll get pretty much a 50/50 split on this one. I'd run with the Vaillant, but only because that's what we currently use, I have no experience of the Avanta range

As I understand it ? & I might be wrong ? but Broag Remeha use sub contract labour for any in warranty work ? were as Vaillant have there own directly employed engineers !

Sponsored Links
There is NOTHING wrong with properly appointed Service Agents we are proud to be associated a several boiler manufacturers and aim to provide them with the same service they would get using their own guys!!

However the group that owns Remeha (De Dietrich) have jut taken over Potty/Baxi so i suspect the Heatteam will be looking after The Avanta range in the future

To answer the OP's question the Remeha is a far superior boiler to the Vaillant ;)

The more discerning installer would install a Veissmann over these every time.
Better engineered, and a full 5year parts and labour guaranty!

The more discerning installer would install a Veissmann over these every time.
Better engineered, and a full 5year parts and labour guaranty!

Yes, but only if money is no object.

The Broag will be approx £200 less than the (inferior IMHO) Vaillant. The Viessman will be a few hundred more than the Vaillant.

My parents 5 year old Vaillant has had three repairs, and is noisy. My Broag Avanta has proved totally reliable, and is so quiet I can hardly hear it running.

Check your figures! Viessmann are slightly dearer than the Remaha but less than Vaillant,