vauxhall combo 1.7 diesel water pump leaking

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Van cut out today on an A road. It would not re start so I managed to pull over. Popped the bonnet and one of the heater hoses had split. Went to the shop and got a replacement hose. Upon re filling the coolant system, water was being lost from what looked like the main bulk of the engine. Finally noticed it was right on the auxiliary belt so I assume it needs a new water pump.

Have purchased a new pump and gasket. Seemed simple enough looking at the Haynes manual( I am a heating engineer, so am hands on) but I could not for the life of me see how to loosen and remove the belt. Could someone take me through how to change a water pump please?
Need to do this first thing in the morning so advise appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Usually the tensioner itself is spring loaded.....is there a bolt head in the centre of the tensioner that once you get a spanner on, levers the tensioner off the belt?
John :)

To be honest john I'm not 100% where the tensioner is. There is the pulley with three bolts that connects to the water pump then there is another pulley and bolt directly below that? I might be being thick but the pictures in Haynes are no help

Scratching the memory cell......the tensioner will have one small pulley with one centre screw / bolt or whatever. The theory is, you put a spanner or Allen key maybe onto the bolt and the turning force moves it out of the way.
The tensioner is fixed into its own sprung boss, I think.
John :)

Sponsored Links
It seems so simple in the book! There is a pulley with a centre bolt, I undone the bolt an nothing happened. I don't want to damage anything or have the belt ping off but I need to have a go in the morning as my mechanic is fully booked.

Look for something like this-

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/FEBI-3197...arts_Vehicles_CarParts_SM&hash=item2ecc21786c