Vokera Compact 25 - Standby Problem? I've a £300 bill now.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone,

I've recently rented a flat that came with a Vokera Compact 25 (discontinued). I'm new to boilers and heating systems, so I studied the manual I found online on the website.

My property agent helped me set up the heating system and set both dials to 7. I also set up the timer system to that machine will only run when I'm at home.

Vokera.jpeg

However, I just got last month's bill and it hit a skyrocket of almost £300. I get that it's winter but I don't think my gas bill should be that high!

I checked my gas meter and found the numbers rolling quite fast.

When I checked the boiler settings, the green LED light was blinking every few seconds (Vokera's customer service says it's on standby). I changed the left dial to 5, which the manual said would have the boiler respond to the timer, and reduced the right dial down. My gas meter has slowed down a lot now and isn't moving.

I'm confused here. Isn't the clock timer supposed to control when the boiler is running? And doesn't the blinking green light means it's on standby and would only activate when I need it to?

I realise that the high bill might be my fault for not adjusting the boiler settings properly. But I need some help making sense of this. I called up Vokera's customer service and they're not much help.

I'd really appreciate input from any of you guys out there. Can't afford to shell out hundreds every month.

Thanks!

Last edited:
Sponsored Links
I reckon your paying for another flats gas ! try turning the gas off at the meter for a couple of days and see if it gets turned on again, been to a few flats where the meters don't match the flats.

Seems experience, how many hours a day do you have the heating on for? Did you give a meter reading when you moved in and double check the meter serial numbers match the ones on the bill.