Vokera compact 28 combi locking out on hot water demand.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I am a fully trained electrical technician and also have some central heating qualifications i.e. old gas ACOP elements but for the past 18 years I've been a senior lecturer in the electrical section in a further education college but my brother in law is gas safe registered. I posted the following post elsewhere in the forum and I am hoping I can get a sensible reply to my post to show him because he has tried some of the things mentioned in the post and I have checked the electrics as far as the fault flow charts allow but the problem with the boiler still exists. The post in another part of the forum is as follows;
My Vokera 28 works ok when the heating is on but when I open a hot water tap it has started (not all the time) going to lockout, solid red light. It resets and works ok for anything between an hour and a couple of days and locks out again. I've replaced both NTC sensors, removed the small rubber washer from the top end of the pipe coming from the domestic water flow switch (it was brittle). I have not looked at the washer at the flow switch end of the pipe. I was advised to clean out venturi pipes with pipe cleaners but I can't find the venturi pipes. I have tried to follow the fault flow charts checking the voltage etc on both the heating side and the direct hot water side, both seem to point to replacing the PCB. I was wondering if there were any additional common faults I could check for before forking out £180 for a PCB? BTW I am in desperate need of advice as my wife is the U.K. Nark Champion and is on course to be the World Champion.

Sponsored Links
This forum does not give advice on gas or combustion relayed matters which might be involved in your problem.

We have a part of the forum for registered gas engineers called the Combustion Chamber.