Voltage and neutral question

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello ,first post so go easy lol.

I am studying electricity and would like a few pointers for my homework.

Am i right in thinking for example say "a cooker oven element". That 240v (uk ) travels from the live wire through the load (element) and back out through the neutral wire..Would the neutral have the full 240v coming out when element switched on ??

We have been set a couple of questions that we have to find out by ourselves using either the net.

I await your response :D And thank you in advance.

Zap.

Sponsored Links
The uk standard voltage is now 230v.
I would throw the question back at you and tell you to look up what voltage, current and resistance are and then you will be able to answer your question.
Understanding the underlying principles of electricity will help you solve the problem yourself.
For example what is ohms law?
What is an element constructed of and how does it heat up?
What do the current ratings on an element mean?

Am i right in thinking for example say "a cooker oven element". That 240v (uk ) travels from the live wire through the load (element) and back out through the neutral wire..
No.

Would the neutral have the full 240v coming out when element switched on ??
No.

We have been set a couple of questions that we have to find out by ourselves using either the net.
Or...

I think they probably meant by reading and learning; not just asking someone.

Post some answers and we will tell you whether you are correct.

Am i right in thinking for example say "a cooker oven element". That 240v (uk ) travels from the live wire through the load (element) and back out through the neutral wire..
No.

Would the neutral have the full 240v coming out when element switched on ??
No.

Or...

I think they probably meant by reading and learning; not just asking someone.

Post some answers and we will tell you whether you are correct.