Voltage -- today's wireless broadband routers multi-voltage?

Discussion in 'Electrics Outside of the UK' started by Rollingstone06, 28 Aug 2006.

  1. Rollingstone06

    Joined:
    28 Aug 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Folks,

    I'm considering buying this wireless broadband router from amazon.com, but the big issue is about voltage.

    Interested in this Linksys router, but the amazon blow-up pic of it shows, naturally, a power adaptor with the standard North American two-pins. This makes me think that it's a 110 V router ONLY.

    Is my assumption correct, or are small devices like routers for 110 V - 220 V use? (Which would make them truly trans-Atlantic operational :p)

    Just wondering, since even my old PC (from '97) was multi-voltage, with a switch-flick.

    Cheers,
    RS ;)
     
  2. Softus

    Joined:
    21 Oct 2004
    Messages:
    19,558
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Er, you've answered the question yourself - the only difference wrt to power is the adaptor.
     
  3. Rollingstone06

    Joined:
    28 Aug 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the reply! Good to know. I'll check out the price of Euopean adaptors for it therefore here. I guess therefore that "12V DC" is labelled on the base of this equipment".

    RS
     
  4. Softus

    Joined:
    21 Oct 2004
    Messages:
    19,558
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Don't guess; look.
     
  5. Rollingstone06

    Joined:
    28 Aug 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hey!

    I'm unable to, alas, since as I said the router's at amazon.com. Naturally, I have no access to the base of routers manufactured in the US 'cos I live in Europe. Otherwise, I'd already have checked.

    RS
     
  6. Softus

    Joined:
    21 Oct 2004
    Messages:
    19,558
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah. Fair point. I apologise.

    An alternative is to buy the equipment from amazon.co.uk, instead of ".com".
     
  7. Rollingstone06

    Joined:
    28 Aug 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No prob, and thanks for the e-mail back. In fact, I would buy it from the UK, but, you know, the pound is very strong against the euro at the moment -- whereas it's advantageous for me to buy at a dollar rate (hence from amazon.com) because of the weak dollar, strong euro...

    Cheers and best wishes,
    RS :)
     
  8. plugwash

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    8,818
    Thanks Received:
    265
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i suspect the supplied power adaptor will be 110V only (power bricks for such appliances generally are). I susgest waiting until you have the router and can look at the ratings on the power brick supplied before looking for a replacement.
     
  9. Rollingstone06

    Joined:
    28 Aug 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    True, so true, I hadn't put that into the equation -- thanks for bringing it up. I have to plan ahead on this matter now, so does anybody here know specifically about whether the power brick will indeed be 110v only? (Any North Americans here who can look at their power cord now to verify, plz!!!!!!!)

    ????????

    RS
     
  10. Rollingstone06

    Joined:
    28 Aug 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Surely someone here knows!! Plz help us out w/an answer asap!!! I need confirmation one way or the other.

    RS :confused:
     
  11. securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    26,011
    Thanks Received:
    503
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Some appliances have a transformer which can be connected to any mains voltage: Usually labelled something like "INPUT VOLTAGE: 100-240V"
     
  12. Rollingstone06

    Joined:
    28 Aug 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Folks,

    Come on, are there any Americans here who can CHECK!!!!! All it takes is for you is to look at the base of your router.

    I need to have a definitive answer ASAP!!!!!! :mad:

    RS
     
  13. securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    26,011
    Thanks Received:
    503
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Then why don't you ring the manufacturer?
     
  14. Rollingstone06

    Joined:
    28 Aug 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just got e-mail back from Linksys. The power adaptor is 110~120V rated. Glad I know now, cos there's no way I'd bother now getting a European power adaptor for it, given their cost. Will just buy the router from closer home at inflated European prices :rolleyes: ....oh well...

    RS
     
  15. ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    8,957
    Thanks Received:
    768
    Location:
    Flintshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I would be more worried about the telephone connection than supply voltage.
    Even in UK there are routers designed to connect to a LAN as one would get with a cable TV provider and those which connect to 50 volt telephone line.
     

Share This Page