Wallpapering - Seams

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, I'm new to the forum so please go easy on me :)

I decorated my sister in-laws lounge with some really horrible paper. It is basically cream with a flower print up the middle. The problem I found is that because the colour of the edges is so light, you can clearly see the line / seam on each drop. She loves it and everyone comments on how nice it looks but when I am round visiting, all I can do is look at it wanting to pull it down :evil:

I don’t expect to be able to do anything about it now but I wondered if anyone could give me some secret top tips or reveal some hidden knowledge regarding seams. Is it possible to make them invisible the next time I hang some paper. I'm not a professional decorator but just want to try and better my next project .

Thanks for your time

Adam

Sponsored Links
the only advice i can offer is to butt the edges tight and use a seam roller. wipe off any excess paste from the paper at each joint. soak the paper for the recommended time stated on the back of the label.

also practice makes perfect. the more you do the better you'll get at it.

There are several tricks that people use with bad seams on paper, some better than others. The darker papers are the worst as a lot of them have white edges, which, if the paper shrinks too much can be seen. You can buy coloured crayons to colour the edge of the roll before you unroll it. You can use coloured emulsion on the wall where ever the joins meet. I have used coloured felt pens on seams that have opened up with some sucess. Others will have other tips i'm sure.

I agree with what elrobbo82 says in the fact that, keep the joints as tight as you can without ovelapping them. I always use a seam roller on all paper edges. Use a good quality paste, maybe even a ready mixed adhesive, sometimes you can put the two together to give added strength.

Sponsored Links