What kind of wood/timber?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I've just moved into a house from an apartment/flat after 11 years in relative containment - woo hoo, however i'm a garden novice

My first question is thus;

I'm creating a nice block paving area at the rear of the garden where the sun shines most frequently (naturally). However as I'm in Glasgow, it rains alot. I'm considering building a nice timber structure with part oif it enclosed.

Does anyone know what type of timber would look good, and where i'd source it. I've been to the obvious B&Q type places but seen nothing to inspire me.

A nice timber with almost a sheen would be nice. Does anyone know if places like the foresty commission sell good timber? Any help welcome

BD

Sponsored Links
Sorry I can't advise about which to use, but if you have a large saw mill company in your area I would approach them more so for price and service.
As I found out recently that they will by a large margin beat any building supplier or the likes of B&Q, Wickes, Travis Perkins & etc.

I would strongly advise you avoid having timber in contact with the ground, as it will rot and make you unhappy. Especially if you have embedded it in a great lump of concrete in the ground.

You can get metal post supports that go into, or bolt to, concrete (not the Metpost sort you hammer in, which are awful) or you can support uprights using concrete spurs. These are sold to support wooden posts that have rotted, they have two bolt holes in them. You can if you wish paint them with dark brown masonry paint so that they tone in with the stain on the timber. I can show you photos but beware Thermo who makes a handsome living out of replacing rotten fences and does not like concrete posts.