Which material and joints for shelving? (2)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all you helpful folk on diynot.

I'm planning to build a shelving/tv/hi fi etc unit right across one side of my living room ~ a stretch of about 11ft. It will be 30cm deep and comprise of a low unit for the TV and Sky etc boxes running about 8ft wide, and a set of shelves with sliding doors running in plastic track to hold a small hi fi, CDs, DVDs and other light things (no books).

The whole thing is going to be painted in antique white eggshell to match the other woodwork in the room.

So I've been to Alsford website and there is an array of materials that I could use, including

plywood (hard and soft, marine, and veneered)
laminated pine
MDF
Southern yellow pine

I assume laminated pine cannot be painted so that leaves the other three. Which would be best for a project like this?

I'm a bit wary of MDF as I have never used it before. I know it's cheap, but I don't know if I would need special screws, drill bits or paint. Forty years ago I used to watch my dad making furniture out of ply, has this been superseded by MDF or is it still a viable option?

Is it "done" to mix materials? For example, to make the frame of MDF or pine, and the inner shelves of plywood?

My other question is about jointing it. I put a flatpack together last week and loved the neatness of dowels, which are cheap to buy and easy to use and dip into glue. My question is, would it be possible to drill a hole for a dowel with my ordinary B&D drill, or would I need some kind of attachment or gizmo to make sure it enters the wood absolutely straight?

I don't own a router and don't want to go to too much expense buying new tools that might only be used for this one project.

Many thanks

LHL [/list]

Sponsored Links
First thing to ask is what is your budget?

That will dictate what you use.