Wireless room thermostat wiring

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All,

I am trying to figure out the correct wiring for a Horstmann wireless thermostat that I have been too chicken to attempt for over a year now!

I have mapped the wiring in my junction box and attach a wiring diagram. Forgive the schoolboy approach with graphics, I have no knowledge of how to correctly create an electrical wiring diagram.

I also took the front off the control unit (Drayton LP722) and noted the connections as Neutral and Live in N & L as expected, Green/Yellow in 1 (HW Off), Grey in 3 (HW On) and Black in 4 (CH On). These are indicated on the diagram alongside the control unit picture.

The wireless thermostat receiver has L, N, SL on and SL Off. It suggests in the installation guide that SL off is not normally used. So, working from the diagram, I assume I need to attach Live and Neutral between the receiver and connector block at 7 and 2 respectively.

Where then should I connect the SL on? If using three core and earth with yellow for example, does the current black wire from the LP722 (CH on) become obsolete, with the new thermostat controlling it instead via the yellow? Or does the current black remain in place and get joined by the SL on from the thermostat? Confused obviously!

Many thanks for any help.

Sponsored Links
Looking at the drawing I think the next stop should be a sparky.

That diagram is too crowded and small I'm afraid. Next time omit the N and E wires for clarity.

So you don't have a room stat at all at the minute?

Mount the wireless receiver next to the programmer if you can.

Take the L-N-E from it into the receiver.

The CH-ON terminal of the programmer should then be connected to the COMMON terminal of the receiver.

The ON terminal on the receiver should then be connected to the spare wire you've just removed from the CH-ON wire in the programmer (this feeds the white wire of the Mid-pos valve.