Wireless router question

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ade2k, 4 Dec 2011.

  1. ade2k

    Joined:
    15 Sep 2009
    Messages:
    808
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi I have a 2wire Homeportal 1800HG and wish to upgrade to a new wireless router.

    I was looking at them on amerzon and the pictures don't show where to plug my telephone line into the router. The router I have now is wireless but it drops signal 10 times a day and the range is not very good.
    I have a telephone cable pluged into it and it and a cable to the sky box.

    What type of router (wireless) will I need as when I look on the interweb some of the routers don't have a socket for the phone line to go into .

    Many thanks Ade
     
  2. Stivino

    Joined:
    11 Oct 2006
    Messages:
    2,281
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Midlothian
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There has to be a socket for the phone wire to go into, it just won't be shown in the pictures.
    I just got a new router (NETGEAR DGND3300). It was quite expensive but I don't think it's as good as the cheaper THOMSON 802.11g Wireless 4-port Ethernet ADSL2+ Route that I used to have which was only half the price.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. ade2k

    Joined:
    15 Sep 2009
    Messages:
    808
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think I need to type modem in as well
     
  4. joinerjohn

    Joined:
    28 Nov 2009
    Messages:
    6,145
    Thanks Received:
    199
    Location:
    Derby
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Almost all wireless capable routers can be connected to the computer via a network cable. There should be a socket to allow an ethernet cable to be plugged into the router. ;) ;) ;)
     
  5. Monsterminty

    Joined:
    26 May 2011
    Messages:
    238
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Pembrokeshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. crofty83

    Joined:
    1 Dec 2011
    Messages:
    135
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you tried to get a free one from your BB provider?

    ADSL if you get your BB via a telephone line (BT, SKY, Talk Talk etc)

    DSL if your with Virgin.

    My best advice would be to look at the reviews. You can usually get a good idea about how reliable the item will be from them.
     
  7. Astra99

    Joined:
    1 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    564
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The 2-wire 1800HG is an ADSL modem/router for non-cable connections. IIRC it was BT's preferred router for business applications a few years ago. It supports 11Mbps wireless connections. It can therefore be replaced with any ADSL/ADSL2 modem/router which has an RJ11 connection for the connection to the phone line. There are many makes and models available, including Netgear Xytel, Belkin, Draytek and D-Link amongst others. Don't forget you will have to configure your new modem/router with your ADSL logon settings and the local IP address range

    As a footnote, the difference between modem routers for BT-type connections and routers for cable connections is that the cable ones have a separate RJ45 socket to connect to the cable modem, or if the modem and router are combined, a connection for the co-axial cable. On the BT-type, this connection is RJ11
     
  8. foxhole

    Joined:
    14 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    8,452
    Thanks Received:
    899
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Are you with Sky for broadband? they provide free wireless router.
     

Share This Page