wiring a mcb

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by ian taylor, 21 Aug 2005.

This topic originated from the How to page called Types of electrical circuits.

  1. ian taylor

    Joined:
    21 Aug 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i have fitted a PROTEUS mcb in a new garage but have lost the instructions to wire it can any body help please
    IAN (CONFUSED)
     
  2. pdcelec

    Joined:
    5 Jun 2005
    Messages:
    707
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    which bit do you not know how to do?
     
  3. Big_Spark

    Joined:
    20 Feb 2004
    Messages:
    3,434
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ian, your first mistake was buying Proteus, they are to quality what excrement is to healthy eating... :confused:

    Secondly, how can this be confusing, they have two terminals, one at the top and one at the bottom. The Bottom Terminal will sit on the Busbar of the unit it goes into, or if no Busbar the supply TO the MCB will go into the bottom terminal. The Feed to the actual circuit the device protects will go into the terminal at the top of the MCB.

    To be honest though fella, if you need help wiring an MCB up, then you should not be playing with anything electrical.

    Remember, electricity kills.
     
  4. Steve

    Joined:
    15 Apr 2005
    Messages:
    16,004
    Thanks Received:
    226
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You say it is a new garage . . . this would lead me to believe you are in fact fitting a full consumer unit with several MCBs within it, hence your confusion, since this is a slightly bigger job than wiring an MCB.

    Why were you awake at 7:18 this morning?
     
  5. andy

    Joined:
    14 Sep 2004
    Messages:
    3,971
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    tryin to work out how to wire it!
     
  6. ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    51,142
    Thanks Received:
    2,002
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't always see eye-to-eye with FWL, but this time he's in complete agreement with me - if you need instructions to wire up an MCB, or a CU, then you shouldn't be doing it.

    In fact, I'm not aware that MCBs or CUs come with instructions, do they?

    Finally, there is the little matter of Part P for you to consider.....
     

Share This Page