wiring honeywell 2 port valve

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Not sure if this should be posted in electricians forum so apologies in advance.

I am a qualified plumber.

I have a thermal store designed and installed by myself.

Off of the thermal store I have a radiator circuit, flow and return,which takes heated water from the store independent from any control of the boiler and other heat sources.

Demand for this circuit comes from a thermostat that simply switches on a pump on the flow side of the radiator circuit

I have an issue with gravity heat leak on this circuit, i.e. when there is no demand from the radiator circuit thermostat hot water will still circulate around the circuit due to gravity, effectively leaking heat from the thermal store and unnecessarily heating rads etc.

My solution is to put a 2 port valve between the thermal store and the pump that opens when the pump is switched on by the thermostat.

Effectively in series with the pump, simply connecting the live neutral and earth to switch the valve open.

However my honeywell 2 port valve has 5 wires and all the wiring diagrams ive seen instruct me for y plan or s plan etc, when I just simply need it to open when current detected and closed when not.

Is this possible?

many thanks.

Sponsored Links
Sorry forgot to mention this is in my own house and I have qualified electrician friend who will do the work under my instruction.

S plan has most of what you need:

Wire the Brown to where your pump live is now (i.e the thermostat output), and the blue to neutral. That will open the valve when your stat calls for demand. Then, wire the grey to permanent live, and the orange to your pump live, and the pump's neutral to permanent neutral. Don't forget to connect the earth too.

Now, your zone valve will open when the stat calls for heat, and when it fully opens and the microswitch is closes, the pump will start.

Or save yourself £60 and just fit an anti gravity valve

Sponsored Links