1. We are pleased to announce the 'Home Automation' forum. Click here to get involved!

Wiring wireless room stat into Combi boiler

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by thomo2710, 14 Dec 2010.

  1. thomo2710

    Joined:
    21 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all,

    Could somebody please help me understand the following diagrams on wiring my new room stat into my boiler.

    Boiler - Vaillant Turbomax Pro 24e
    Stat - Honeywell CMT927 Wireless

    Boiler wiring:
    Page 17 of the following PDF link
    http://neighbourconstructions.co.uk/...stallation.pdf

    Stat wiring:
    Page 7 of the following PDF link
    http://www.plumbnation.co.uk/site/ho...cification.pdf

    Currently the boiler has a loop wire in pin 3 + 4 for the plug in vaillant timer. I know i havre to take this out.

    T1 and T2 are pin 3 and 4? Assuming looking at page 18 of the vaillant PDF
    I dont know what that 10a fuse is for and where the diagram goes off too towards the left.

    Boiler is currently hooked up to the mains supply via a fused spur.

    The reciever unit is powered off a switched live.

    My friend is confident he can do it as he is fairly competant with doing electrics but i want to clarify 100% what goes where first as he doesnt want to go ahead for deffo and turn the boiler back on with a bang before we are 100% certain what goes where.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. thomo2710

    Joined:
    21 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok so having another look over it am i anywhere close?

    2 cables

    1st cable - core 1 in pin 3 (T1) to A and core 2 in pin 4 (T2) to B
    2nd cable - core 1 piggybacked into the L on the boiler board to L and core 2 piggybacked into N on the boiler board to N

    The 10a fuse is what should be in the fused spur socket?

    How close am I?
     
  3. holmslaw

    Joined:
    12 Dec 2006
    Messages:
    5,841
    Thanks Received:
    400
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  4. thomo2710

    Joined:
    21 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  5. holmslaw

    Joined:
    12 Dec 2006
    Messages:
    5,841
    Thanks Received:
    400
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  6. thomo2710

    Joined:
    21 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks man, ill check what fuse is in the spur already at lunch time.

    But apart from that am i there with what i put in post 2?
     
  7. holmslaw

    Joined:
    12 Dec 2006
    Messages:
    5,841
    Thanks Received:
    400
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  8. thomo2710

    Joined:
    21 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Diagram B on Page 7 of the Honeywell manual.

    A on stat to T1 (3 on boiler)
    B on stat to T2 (4 on boiler)
     
  9. holmslaw

    Joined:
    12 Dec 2006
    Messages:
    5,841
    Thanks Received:
    400
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  10. thomo2710

    Joined:
    21 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Re: Help wiring Honeywell CMT927 roomstat into Combi boiler
    Hey me again

    Sorry to be a pain..... I'm doing this tonight and I want to get it 200% right as it's not exactly the weather to be without a boiler.

    N L L on the relay box.

    Boiler is run off a switched spur.

    N on relay box - do I tap into the N on the boiler pcb and run the other end into the N bank on relay box.

    Middle L - tap into L on spur socket to Middle L on relay box?

    Right side L - single core cable from that straight to L on boiler pcb?

    Picture on install only shows 2 wires - 1 in N and other in rightbside L

    Thanks in advance
     
  11. londonboy

    Joined:
    22 Feb 2009
    Messages:
    1,582
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ignore the middle L terminal on the receiver.

    It needs a Live and Neutral, you can get this from the spur, or from the PCB, makes no odds.
     
  12. Marco1976

    Joined:
    25 Dec 2007
    Messages:
    153
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    sorry to hijack the post but i have a similar problem.

    Does the Live in the relay box need to be connected to another terminal within the receiver?
     
  13. thomo2710

    Joined:
    21 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I got mine working with:

    N in relay box to N on fused spur socket
    Right hand side L in relay to L on fused spur socket

    Left middle L in relay box empty.

    Also use 1.5mm cable as the relay box terminals will not accept 2.5mm cable as I found out!!
     
  14. londonboy

    Joined:
    22 Feb 2009
    Messages:
    1,582
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You did well getting 1.5mm in there, I usually use 0.75mm :LOL:
     

Share This Page