working pressure

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by alan99, 30 May 2008.

  1. alan99

    Joined:
    6 May 2008
    Messages:
    2,335
    Thanks Received:
    266
    Location:
    Caernarvonshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hello. i had a working pressure at the meter of 14 mb . but the gas rate on the gloworm compact 100e was fine , totally unaffected. transco came repaired but just wondering how can such a low pressure not affect the gas rate on the boiler??
     
  2. Nixt

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2006
    Messages:
    829
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Because you're confusing working pressure with burner pressure.
     
  3. alan99

    Joined:
    6 May 2008
    Messages:
    2,335
    Thanks Received:
    266
    Location:
    Caernarvonshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    standing pressure at meter was 16 and working pressure at the meter was 14mb. this would surely dramatically effect the inlet pressure to the appliance and thus burner pressure and gas rate. both burner press and gas rate spot on
     
  4. twgas

    Joined:
    26 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    4,890
    Thanks Received:
    424
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    are you saying BP is higher than working pressure at meter
     
  5. spudkey

    Joined:
    27 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    800
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it depends on the burner pressure setting on appliance, i think on this boiler it is only about 14mb anyway, if it needed a higher burner pressure then having only 14mb inlet will effect combustion & gas rate if required burner pressure is not achiveable it also becomes at risk
     
  6. twgas

    Joined:
    26 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    4,890
    Thanks Received:
    424
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thats why I checked MI, 14.3mbar (hot)
     
  7. spudkey

    Joined:
    27 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    800
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ah! 14.3mb burner pressure but only 14mb at meter, yet Op states burner pressure spot on i see your point
     
  8. alan99

    Joined:
    6 May 2008
    Messages:
    2,335
    Thanks Received:
    266
    Location:
    Caernarvonshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    THANKS. yes off course if the burner pressure max setting is say 12mb and meter working pressure is say 16mb then the bp of the aplaince wont be affected. common sense i guess . thanks chaps
     
  9. twgas

    Joined:
    26 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    4,890
    Thanks Received:
    424
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    but you said WP at meter 14mbar, BP spot on, (MI say 14.3mbar) how is this so, or are you taking wrong readings or being given wrong info by the RGI that tested it
     
  10. holty

    Joined:
    14 Jan 2006
    Messages:
    5,636
    Thanks Received:
    970
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    has anyone seen the OPs previous questions. it sounds like hes trying to fault find and work on gas sorry if im reading wrong.
     
  11. assured heating

    Joined:
    17 Sep 2007
    Messages:
    318
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yes it seems that alan99 has been asking questions that are really basic !! that is what the fast track system is giving to the industry GOD HELP HIS CUTOMERS :rolleyes:
     
  12. spacethegas

    Joined:
    23 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    1,214
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    get out transco then.



    .
     

Share This Page