Worktop is 635mm but Jig doesn't have this slot... What to do?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have an Ikea Worktop which has a depth of 635mm

However the jig that I have only has slots for worktops with a depth of 600, 615, 650 or 700mm

In this situation, what do you do?

Sponsored Links
I am a novice so could you please explain how you 'tack on a strip' to the worktop?

Sponsored Links
What sort of worktop is it. Wood or laminate, square edge or post formed.

Check this link out, and it should explain things quite well. As you can see from the picture showing Left hand female joint (and as Foxhole mentioned) you just need a 15mm block at the back with the pin set to 650, to get you to 635.

http://www.raygirling.com/wtjig.htm

@Doggit thanks for the link.. however guys I have another issue... Sorry to be a pain!

It turns out the old worktop has a depth of approximately 585-590mm.. so if i use the new piece i.e. 635mm i believe that it will leave too large an overhang

So I plan to use the plunge saw to get it down to 590mm..

Using Foxhole's logic, shall I just tack on a strip of 10mm timber and use the 600mm marking?

I'd say that 590 is on the short side, especially as most worktops are 600, and that's what I'd suggest you aim for; how much overhang do you currently have. Have you got a sink going in this piece that would benefit from a longer overhang; do you have any washing machines etc, that would also benefit.

@Doggit You are right, when you say that I should aim for 600..

Currently. the overhang is 16mm (from the base unit)

However having done some googling this appears to be very short as the typical overhang is approx 30-50mm

Therefore the 600mm worktop, would leave me with with an overhang within the normal range

So I plan to cut the 635mm to 600.. Then use the jig at that setting

Thanks for your help.. you've been brilliant!

Either cut to 600mm or move the cup'd to use the full 635 depth.
What's a cup'd?