Zanussi hob very hot after testing!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I'm not a qualified electrician bit I have bit the bullet and tried to install my Zanussi hob.

I purchased a 45a cooker outlet plate and removed the cable from the old cooker into the outlet plate. The cable is 6mm t&e which comes from the cooker switch as installed when I had a re-wire.

I then installed a 6mm t&e cable from the outlet plate to the hob. All live, nuetral and earth connections are fine tight and secure.

As per the manufactuers instructions I placed pans with water on each hob and set the knobs to maximum (6). They started to boil but I thought the slight smoke underneath does not seem right.

Even now 20 minutes or so after switching it off the actual metal base of the hob is red hot.

The circuit did not trip. The 45a outlet plate is intact. The 6mm cable from the outlet plate to the cooker has not melted in any way.

The only check I have not made is the condition of the cable at the hob connection point. Apart from melting the plastic should I be expecting anything else?

Something is seriously not right, apart from me calling in someone qualified, so any suggestions please?

Let me know if further information is required.

TIA.
NotVeryHandy

Sponsored Links
Even now 20 minutes or so after switching it off the actual metal base of the hob is red hot.
If that is even remotely close to be (literally) true, it certainly doesn't sound right - but I rather doubt that it is anhything to do with the electrical cables/connections/wiring. I think you probably need to speak to the manufacturer or supplier.
The only check I have not made is the condition of the cable at the hob connection point. Apart from melting the plastic should I be expecting anything else?
Are any of the accessible cables getting hot?

Kind Regards, John