Zinc roof and cedar soffit

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am planning on having a zinc roof and facia and would like a cedar soffit. I understand that rain water run off from cedar can have an adverse reaction on zinc.

Can anyone tell me it a cedar soffit will be ok as I assume the run off will not be significant as it will be below the zinc roof and fascia?

Sponsored Links
Carwarden, hi

Zink is a somewhat unusual choice of roofing material now? it seems to have gone out of fashion, I think mostly because of the corrosion problems associated with Zink.

As for the Zink / Cedar mix? suggest you use Google, there is some information from USA based roofing sites which I find confusing??

Ken.

No problem with this configuration and will look bang on trend.
The guy above must have been living in a cave for the past 25 years......

I've been installing zinc roofs everyday for the past 17 years and have plenty of work ahead of me.

But your zinc is coated isn't it? Maybe Ken was thinking of bare zinc.

Sponsored Links
hardmetalking, hi

For my sins, I work as as an Insurance claims surveyor, I look at such things as Subsidence, Floods, and loads and loads of storm claims, never mind the Fires and Impact claims, Etc. Etc.

In the past 3/5/7+++ YEARS! I have never had to look at or seen a Zinc Roof??? they simply do not seem to exist up here.

Historically, Zinc appears to be considered as a poor relative to either Lead or similar? or that just may be up here in the far frozen north? there is a distinct lack of Zinc roofs??? It is most certainly not the first covering of preference?? Either coated or not??

Ken.

Let me educate you Ken.....