DIY Hard Brake Line Flaring

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello everyone and thank you in advance for any advice I receive to this query.

My vehicle is a 1999, Chevy c2500, base model, 5.7 liter, Long bed, Reg cab, 3/4 ton.

I'm rebuilding 100% of my brake lines. I've never done so before on any vehicle but my budget didn't leave me any choice. I've come to learn how difficult GM decided to make it for us with their seemingly random selection of fitting sizes. But I've dealt with that. I've learned very well how to handle all of my bending and I've reproduced the manufactures line almost exactly and I'm pleased with the fit on the vehicle I can achieve. I've purchased not one but actually two flaring tools, because I'm also making a fuel line or two and couldn't cheat a bubble flare out of the double flare tool I started with.

My problem is this. While all of my 1/4 line double flares look and work exactly like they should, my 3/16th lines won't give me a good flare. The flare that comes out of the jig ends up warped to one side creating something that won't seal properly in the fittings.

I'm making square cuts on the line with a plumbing pipe cutter.

I am using the jig in a bench vice.

I am checking very carefully that the yoke is at a precise 90 degrees to the jig and that the line also sticks straight out at 90 degrees to the jig.

I'm carefully filing the, "and have tried using drilling too" the burring away from the inner diameter of the line before I begin using the flaring bit.

I'm using the right bit for the first half of the flaring procedure, although "and I've read others have had this issue" the bit doesn't seat tightly in the brake line but rather moves around a bit in the inner diameter. Something the larger diameter bits don't do in their respective line sizes.

I'm checking the tube length protruding from the jig against the shoulder on the bit as I should.