High pressure fuel pump replacement

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have an 04 Renault master Van, LM35 DCI 120 LWB only done 60k miles, the other day just cut out, instantly. been running beautifully still with half a fuel tank, plenty of battery to turn over but would not fire up.

Got towed to local garage and plugged it in and diagnostics fault code points to no fuel pressure. They say, high pressure pump needs replacing, but they will have to remove fuel tank, flush common rail, injectors, all fuel lines, mega job. Estimate £1500
I called Renault dealer for quote, £400 labour £475 for recon pump. Result!!!!
But they did not quote to remove tank and flush etc. Why I asked? They said, unless debris from pump is in confirmed in system there is no need. And asked am I sure fuel system is contaminated, has fuel filter been checked.
Called local garage back and asked did you check fuel filter. Their answer."No point, if the pump has failed the metal fragments will have got into system and the new pump is not guaranteed without a full flush through"

So my questions,

1) If I get van home from garage and check filter, and it's not contaminated, how difficult is it to replace the high pressure pump. Renault book 3.5 hours to do it, thus the £400 labour so i can see its not a tiny job.
2) When a high pressure pump fails does it often deposit metal debris through the system and surely any in line filters (presume it has those) would collect the rubbish. Or are there electrical contacts that could fail or simply the pump stop etc.
3) What are the possibilities of another fault giving the same diagnostic code fault. Could the garage that did the diagnostic check be jumping to the conclusion of the pump when it could be a sensor or fuel line block etc or would they fault code different?

Thanks anyone

Sponsored Links