vauxhall combo 2003 oil leak

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
So I have an oil leak on my van. It has been ok topping it up but customers are getting annoyed with oil on their drives and so they should. I pointed the leak out to the mechanic on a full service and he dismissed it saying it was only a small one and not too worry. Well it got worse. I had a friend take a quick look who has knowledge of vehicles. He has said it is 90% the sump pan gasket. So my questions are..... How easy is it to change the gasket on a sump pan? Might it just need tightening? What gasket should I buy as I have read bad reviews on rubber and cork? Do they do fibre gaskets like they do for flanges in plumbing? ( i'm a plumber) Also I have heard some people have just used a silicone paste?

I am a heating engineer so very hands on, is this an easy job? Have access to a set of ramps to lift the vehicle.

Sponsored Links
Before you dive in, just ascertain that the sump hasn't become porous due to rust - its fairly common these days.
I don't know if this engine actually uses a gasket - another common practice is to use a special high temperature sealant, from either a main dealer (who will tell you about the gasket situation anyway) or a motor factor.
John :)

Also, go underneath and check that it actually is the oil sump. Any clean area above the gasket may indicate an oil seal, or the oil pump. You should find a gasket on these.

Thanks people, obviously I am going to have the van up first, clean the oil away to see where it is coming from. If the sump is rusted then I will buy a new one. I have high temperature sealant that I use on boiler flues. It withstands 300 degrees. Is it ok to use that with a gasket as well.

Sponsored Links
If the sealant is silicone based then it should be fine with the gasket but use it sparingly.
If there isn't a gasket its probably wise to use the proper stuff....expensive but you'll only do the job once!
John