Any planning issues replacing cladding?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,
I've been emailed the details of a house for sale I quite like. The only major gripe I have at the moment without seeing inside for myself it the exterior appearance. It's a typical 60's/ 70's 3 storey townhouse and I'm not really a fan of the white cladding.

Would there be planning issues with changing to a rendered or tiled finish at some point? Also, would planning be required if one was to replace the windows with a smaller design so they don't reach right across the front and down to ground level? Some of them are floor to ceiling glass. I noticed on the street view one property on the block has done this.

Would the above all be very costly and complicated [or should I ask that elsewhere?]

Thanks if you can help. :)

Sponsored Links
I believe from what I have read on forum ( I'm not a pro ) that what you are proposing would require you to improve the insulation to current regs becuase it would count as renewing more than 25% of the wall. This would however be the responsibility of Building Control - don't know if it require planning permission.

Happy to be corrected by anybody better informed.

I believe from what I have read on forum ( I'm not a pro ) that what you are proposing would require you to improve the insulation to current regs becuase it would count as renewing more than 25% of the wall. This would however be the responsibility of Building Control - don't know if it require planning permission.

Happy to be corrected by anybody better informed.

Thank you Mointainwalker.
I did wonder if changing the windows would be the main planning issue, that's a good point to bear in mind - all that glass is definitely going to have a greenhouse affect! I wasn't sure if drastically altering the appearance of a building, ie, replacing the panelling in such a way that it creates a more boxy, cubist image and looks far different to the attached house would cause issues.