Loft/Garage Conversion

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all,

I am looking at becoming involved with a builder (i am an architectural technician) to design loft and garage conversions. Is there a simple way to find out whether PD rights are intact for a dwelling? I guess i will need to go to LA and ask them for each property?

Eddy

Sponsored Links
Hello all,

I am looking at becoming involved with a builder (i am an architectural technician) to design loft and garage conversions. Is there a simple way to find out whether PD rights are intact for a dwelling? I guess i will need to go to LA and ask them for each property?

Eddy
Yes this is the easiest way. Generally they (Planning) are co-operative and it is is a simple question and answer process however ocasionally it can be a trial!

Sometimes (depending on the LA in question and the extent of their online records) you can find the information on their system.

do you know where/how to find that on their website? In my experience, they aren't overly helpful! Newcastle upon Tyne (my area) especially!

Would it just be a question of "does this property have permitted development rights intact?"

Am i also correct that usually, even if PD have been removed, an application is free (for loft/garage conversions)?

Thanks for your response.

It depends on your local authority, some have a property search which gives detailed information on a property some just list recent applications. Look for the online planning applications section of their website. Yes asking that will (or should) get the correct response although some authority's now will not talk to agents over the phone (joy).