Damp on internal wall-confused where it has come from

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello fellow memebers, newbie here.

I have tide marks on internal wall right next to the French door.
External Dpc was done 7 years ago
Brick work is excellent condition as house was repointed by myself 7 years ago.
Seal around French doors was a little detoriated so I have replaced with new sealant.

Next door neighbour had a hopper which was blocked ( don't know how long for) this was overflowing so I am thinking this has saturated the floor and the bricks?

I also took the skirting off to check the internal wall and as you can see the plaster is dry so I am thinking I don't have rising damp.

The house is south facing so it will dry out no problem in the spring summer time.
I am not too concerned at the moment as I am redocarating the whole downstairs once I take the whole chimney breast out so I can take the remedial action then.
I am just really confused how this happened

What are your thoughts?

Many thanks

Sponsored Links
Window fitter about 8 year ago, not had any problem until recently?

If you mean the marks have only recently appeared I would not think it is condensation but more likely some fault in the new sealing works you have done around the doors that is channelling water in instead of keeping it out! Or possibly as a result of old sealant falling out and channelling water in.

If the marks are old and pre-existing your resealing work, it could be either condensation or a problem with the original sealant works.

Condensation issues tend not to suddenly appear where previously there was no problem

Sponsored Links
It appeared with the original sealant in place, there were a few airline cracks in the sealant so I raked out and replaced.obviously it hasn't got much chance of drying in this weather so will have to wait.
I have a thumb nail if condensation on the inner window so probably not that.