Brass coloured door hinges - want to replace or paint

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

First post, and I'm an absolute novice. In-fact I'd say novice is a standard I'd like to get to eventually....

I am in the middle of decorating a flat I have bought, and I want to get brushed chrome door handles / sockets etc.

One thing that'll bug me is the hinges on the original flat doors (flat is around 12 years old) they're gold / brass colour - and I want them to be closer to brushed chrome.

I suppose I could replace them, but I was also thinking would it be possible to spraypaint them instead? The door-frames might look daft unless I was to get the exact same size / shape hinges as there will be an indentation around the new hinge.

Any advice? Do-able?

Many thanks,
M

Sponsored Links
It's quite possible you won't get hinges exactly the same size and with the holes in the same place - so unless you want a load of hassle it may be easier to paint the hinges.

No need to spray them - I don't imagine the frames were sprayed.

Prime, two undercoats and a top coat should be more than enough on the hinges.

for the price I would fit new.

If you are very lucky you will find new ones where the screw holes match the old ones. Otherwise buy some thin dowel, drill out the old holes in the wood to fit, tap in the dowel tightly with wood glue, once hard you can drill the pilot holes for your new screws.

Alternatively, if you just paint the hinges to match the door and frame, it will be much easier and no-one will ever notice them.

BTW if fitting new hinges, I would always go for lift-off ones. They cost slightly more, but the time and effort they save when redecorating, moving large furniture or laying carpets, is enormous.

It's quite possible you won't get hinges exactly the same size and with the holes in the same place - so unless you want a load of hassle it may be easier to paint the hinges.

No need to spray them - I don't imagine the frames were sprayed.