Wallpaper Removal & Painting Advice

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All,

I decided to start with 'easy' DIY and get rid of some horrendous wallpaper and just want to replace it with paint. I've just taken a steamer to the paper and removed one corner.

See Photo

So, question is as a complete newbie. On the left wall is the green stuff some previous paint, or some kind of plaster board? On the right wall, it seems much more like old paint that's peeling off, and there is the same layer of green under that as well. The green layer seems fairly smooth and I guess it's paint/adhesive on top of that.

How much do I actually want to remove, i.e. what does the primer coat want to go on?

Many thanks!

Sponsored Links
Unless you remove every last bit of the old paper and paint, then fill any nicks and sand smooth, it will look like a dog's breakfast after you've painted it.

I'd suggest you strip as best you can then line the wall with a thick lining paper. Ensure the paper seams do not overlap and fill any seam gaps with a filler compound. Let the lining paper glue dry thoroughly and then paint onto the lining paper.

Ok thanks, so if I go down to the green layer, which seems like a smooth paint layer, is that something I can put primer on assuming there's not cracks or rough surface?

I was just concernerd that on the wall on the right, I seem to be removing a layer of thin plaster like stuff under the wallpaper...

Ok thanks, so if I go down to the green layer, which seems like a smooth paint layer, is that something I can put primer on assuming there's not cracks or rough surface?

I was just concernerd that on the wall on the right, I seem to be removing a layer of thin plaster like stuff under the wallpaper...

The green on the left hand wall does indeed look like paint, and the brown layer on the right hand wall is almost certainly plaster skim. Possibly either that wall alone was re-skimmed at some time, or perhaps only the green wall was painted.