Circuit breaker for lights is broken/faulty

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Newbie looking for some advice, not sure if I am using the right terminology so please bare with me.

The circuit breaker controlling our lights appears to be broken but I want to check my rationale before I get an electrician out to help.

The circuit has flipped to the off position a number of times over the last couple of days but no lights have blown as a result, though they do all switch off. It doesn't appear to matter what lights are on. When I have checked the circuit breaker and flipped it back up the lights come on and so I have not done anything else about it. This last time the breaker has been warm but also doesn't provide power to the lights unless I keep the switch pushed up. Otherwise it stay in the on position but the lights do not work.

I think it is faulty/broken and needs replacing and from what I can see they are about £5. Is it possible for a complete novice to replace or should I stay well clear?

Thanks

Mark

Sponsored Links
That does sound unusual

What make is the consumer unit, and when was it fitted?, there was a recall on some makes a few years back

Although its equally possible the outgoing live is just loose, or even the busbar cage terminal is the wrong side of the copper stab

Generally not a task for a DIYer as it involves working in an enclosure with live parts and there is going to have to be some investigation as to the exact nature of the fault

The trip is a duel unit in one both thermal and magnetic and under load it will become warm this is how it works.

The question is has the trip opened because there is a fault on the circuit and it's doing it's job or because the trip its self is faulty?