Extractor Fan Isolator Switch????

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I want to put a extractor in my bathroom to try and reduce the condensation the tenants are causing in my flat.

The bathroom has a window and I want to fit a fan with a timer in the wall so it that runs on after the light has been switched off.

I would like to connect it WITHOUT an isolator switch so the tenants can't switch it off, is this possible?

the Timer Fan I have purchased says that it does not require a earth but requires a 3A fuse!

Sponsored Links
I would like to connect it WITHOUT an isolator switch so the tenants can't switch it off, is this possible?
Not really and it is a good idea for when they go wrong it can be switched off so that the lights can still be used.

the Timer Fan I have purchased says that it does not require a earth but requires a 3A fuse!
Just terminate the CPC (earth) in a terminal block and position safely.
Most do require a 3A fuse.

I have a lot of experience with tenants and condensation and while a fan will help, and there are obviously places which are susceptible to condensation, the blame lies, in most cases, with tenants who scrimp on the heating, never ventilate or remove (wipe up) the condensation - leaving a sopping towel permanently on window sills, fill the room with plants which need watering , hang washing to dry in closed room, and, as you say, do not use the fan when there is one.

I have had tenants in the same flat, one of which complained of clothes and shoes going mouldy and leaving the property with black walls and others who had no problem and left it in a condition which was as new.

Something to consider.

An extractor fan is only efficient if there is as much air getting in to the room as the fan is trying to extract.
So, if your bathroom door is very close fitting then the fan will be trying to create a vacuum and won't work properly.