high earth loop impedance

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, looking for a bit of assistance if anyone can help. my brothers boiler was recently serviced by british gas. he was left a safety advice notice by there engineer stating "ELI above 200, please seek electrical support" he has a TT system, the house was fully rewired about 6 years ago. Please could anyone tell me what posisble causes could be. I am an maintenance electrician in a factory so i have good electrical experience but not in domestic properies. Any help would be much appreciated.

Sponsored Links
What's the condition of the Earth spike/rod?

Have you got a meter you can test it with yourself?

Was a certificate provided with test results when it was rewired as this may show if it was "ok" back then.

A TT system usually consists of Ze running into tens, or even a couple of hundred ohms. Although it is possible for Ze to be as high as 1666 Ω with a 30mA RCD, regulations state that anything over 200 Ω could be unreliable.
To get the Ze below that figure will require new, longer or even several earth rods.

the house was rewired before he moved in and the records were never passed on. the rod looks ok to me but i'm no expert. would i be ok running another earth in along the same path as the other and adding a second rod in the same pit?

Sponsored Links
the house was rewired before he moved in and the records were never passed on. the rod looks ok to me but i'm no expert. would i be ok running another earth in along the same path as the other and adding a second rod in the same pit?

Deeper is better is my experience - one rod screwed to the other.
If you intend to run a second pit then the distance from the first rod should be at least as far as the rod is deep.

The rods normally need to be at least the rod length apart.

Its at least twice the length apart.

Yes, sorry, two rods means twice the length apart.