Is the busbar connected to the main switch?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
This may seem a retarded question, but as I am not an electrician I need to be sure of what I am doing. Can somebody please take a look at the pics. The breakers you see are the upstairs lights (left) and upstairs sockets (right). Then the main switch.

The upstairs lights went off, so I had a look and noticed the busbar was loose, so, I tried to re-attach it, but it fell, and now I am not sure whether it is attached to the main switch or not. I guess it is due to there being an exposed busbar connection to the left.

In a nutshel then. Does the busbar attach to the main switch, and the 2 breakers?

Thank you in advance

http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=2eme9o6&s=8#.U4NHM_mICSo

http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=2woj444&s=8#.U4NGwvmICSo

Sponsored Links
The short answer is 'yes', but if you need to ask the question, then I would seriously suggest that you should probably seek some professional assistance - there are live parts in a CU even when the main switch is'off' - and, if that busbar was falling off, goodness only knows what other potentially dangerous things may be going on!

Kind Regards, John

With the power off the bus bar needs moving to the right by one place.

So the bus bar and red wire go into the same switch terminal.

Once in and screw tightened you need to ensure they are secure.

2woj444.jpg

Cheers, with the power switched off, is that red wire okay to touch with the busbar while attaching?

Yes, I know the question highlighted my lack of knowledge here, but I am learning something new.

Sponsored Links
Cheers, with the power switched off, is that red wire okay to touch with the busbar while attaching?
Yes. As you've been told, both the red wire and the end prong of the busbar need to be securely attached, together, to the main switch terminal.
Yes, I know the question highlighted my lack of knowledge here, but I am learning something new.