Moving a socket 3 inches

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I've got a kitchen socket I want to move slightly to the left before tiling (currently have a glass splash back but we don't like it and want to tile instead).

Will I need to get a sparky involved to do this (as it might involve extending the feed?) Or is it something I can do without actually tampering with the wiring and just move the cage of the feed permits?

Sponsored Links
I would think its unlikely that there is enough slack in the cable to move it 3inchs without extending it, even if theres an inch or two in the box, it will almost certainly be stripped back from the outer insulation.

Im not an electrician so will wait to here what the others say.

Daniel

Moving sockets is often a pain. How much of a pain depends on how they are fed.

The trouble is concealed cables that are not protected by earthed metal (which is most of them) are only allowed to run in "safe zones". In particular there are safe zones running horrizontally or vertically from a socket (or other wiring accsesory).

So if you move the socket you move the safe zones it creates and depending on how things were wired that may mean ripping a lot of cable out of the wall and moving it.

Moving sockets is often a pain. How much of a pain depends on how they are fed.

The trouble is concealed cables that are not protected by earthed metal (which is most of them) are only allowed to run in "safe zones". In particular there are safe zones running horrizontally or vertically from a socket (or other wiring accsesory).

So if you move the socket you move the safe zones it creates and depending on how things were wired that may mean ripping a lot of cable out of the wall and moving it.

I know where the channels are as I was there when the sparky put them all in. Didnt notice one of the sockets that was supposed to be centralised over one of the units wasnt as we put the kitchen in after. It's probably 2-3" too far right.

Sponsored Links