Wiring in a new plug socket

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, First post, so go easy on me :D

Moving into a new place on Friday, Consumer Unit is located in a cupboard under the stairs.

I want to put a new double socket in the cupboard so I can tuck my modem and NAS away in there. with a pass through powerline adaptor so I don't need network cable running around the house.

My question is can I wire it into the existing 32A socket ring CB in the consumer unit? And will I need it professionally tested, or need to inform anyone I've done it?

I'm an Avionic Engineer, so I'm confident on my ability to do it myself, even if my skills are Aircraft based rather than household electrics.

Any info/tips greatly appreciated

Sponsored Links
My question is can I wire it into the existing 32A socket ring CB in the consumer unit?
Yes, it's fine for a spur to start from the origin of the circuit.

And will I need it professionally tested,
There is no explicit requirement in law for wiring to be tested but there is a requirement that "Reasonable provision shall be made in the design and installation of electrical installations in order to protect persons operating, maintaining or altering the installations from fire or injury."

Personally I'd suggest getting something like http://martindale-electric.co.uk/ma...tra-earth-loop-impedance-indicator-p-285.html it's not as good as doing the full set of tests with proffesional test equipment but it will detect the worst screwups.

or need to inform anyone I've done it?
Spurring off an existing circuit is not notifiable.

My question is can I wire it into the existing 32A socket ring CB in the consumer unit? And will I need it professionally tested, or need to inform anyone I've done it?
Part P says reasonable provisions, how would you prove that?
Plus requirement for RCD protection, does this protection exist
[/quote]

Sponsored Links