Repointing patio: should I use Geofix?

jff

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I have an Indian Stone patio that is in need of repointing and, although I've never done anything like it before, I'd like to give it a go. Most of the gaps are not very deep nor wide; for example:

However, some of them are quite deep, like this one:

At some points, there are also some weeds growing:

Recently, I had another part of the patio relaid by someone else who used Geofix. He also used some of the Geofix to cover one of the parts that he did not relay, but the Geofix did not work as expected, as you can see in the following photo:

The Geofix comes out very easily!

So, my questions are:

1. How would you fix the problems shown in the photos above? Would you use Geofix? If so, would I need to remove the existing mortar or can I apply Geofix on top of it to just fill the gaps?

2. If I use Geofix, will I be able to get a colour to match the existing pointing? The grey colour is too dark; I am not sure about the buff colour. Are there any other options?

3. Two or three slabs have minor movement. Would I have to lift these slabs or can I just stop the movement by filling the gaps?

Any help is appreciated.
Many thanks, Joao

Sponsored Links
No I wouldn't use geofix.

You'll struggle to get a colour match to the exiting bits, and it's not a structural product so it won't hold loose slabs in place.

• Thanks
Reactions: jff
If you want to use any of the similar products, I would recommend Stonemarket's product which goes on wet - very easy to use and sets very well once dry. You still need to strike it with a pointing iron, so its not as quick as the adverts would suggest, but it does away with the possibility of staining. I have been using it for a couple of years now and am impressed.

You'll have to strip out all the old stuff, though, but you should do that whatever you use to re-point with.

• Thanks