Ideas for insulating metal shed roof?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Basically just looking for some ideas here, all welcome!

I have a 10x13 Yardmaster shed which I have wired and set-up nicely as my little home workshop. Very happy with the shed itself.

I have a 3Kw fan heater in it which I can turn on and it heats it up pretty quickly but as you can imagine, being a puerly "tin" shed it looses its head very very quickly too.

Now I cant / don't need to insulate the side as these are mostly covered with tables, bookcases, drawers etc etc. But I would like to insulate the roof. I don't need it ultra insulated, just something that will "help". And most importantly, I need to do it as cheaply as possible as I have just had a big tax bill.

My initial thoughts were, get some polystyrene board and just cut it and spray adhesive it to the roof, maybe spray paint it silver to match. But I'm open to any suggestions. Do you think this would make quite a big difference to the heat retention? I would guess that most of the heat goes out the roof.

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Polystyrene/rigid insulation onto roof, plywood, chipboard then felt....

Can't see why you can't do the same with walls, assuming the roof overhang would stop moisture getting in at the top.

Leaving the insulation bare or just painting it, meh, prone to damage and UV degradation. Moisture trapped between it and the metal could also promote corrosive action.

Polystyrene/rigid insulation onto roof, plywood, chipboard then felt....

Can't see why you can't do the same with walls, assuming the roof overhang would stop moisture getting in at the top.

Leaving the insulation bare or just painting it, meh, prone to damage and UV degradation. Moisture trapped between it and the metal could also promote corrosive action.

Do i really need all those 4 stages? bearing in mind im trying to do it as cheaply as possible. Why felt?